Residency at Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts


One extremely promising string quartet is chosen each year to complete a year-long residency at Caramoor. This group lends their time and talents to Caramoor’s Student Strings program in secondary schools with a classroom-based program of concerts, conversations, and performance clinics. The Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence performs at Caramoor throughout their residency, enabling the public to experience these exciting young players in an intimate setting. The Argus is the 17th Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence at Caramoor. They will be visiting schools as music mentors in the fall and spring, and performing concerts at Caramoor in the fall, spring, and summer.


2016 Fall Residency:

Caramoor Link Here!


The Argus Quartet begins their residency at Caramoor with a program curated to entice chamber music lovers. With two Theofanidis pieces: Visions & Miracles, which is almost blindingly light and ecstatic, and the darkly brooding piano quintet, along with compositions from exciting and accomplished 20th century composers, the Argus Quartet invite listeners to broaden their knowledge of the string quartet library. The cutting-edge Argus Quartet collaborated Knox’s Satellites through a commissioning project by the Kronos Quartet devoted to the most contemporary approaches to the string quartet.


Theofanidis O vis Aeternitatis (O Power of Eternity), for Piano Quintet (performed with David Fung, pianist)
Livengood This Is My Scary Robot Voice
Di Castri Quartet No. 1 (American Premiere)
– Intermission –
Theofanidis Visions & Miracles
Knox Satellites, for String Quartet


2017 Spring Residency:

Caramoor Link Here!


Selected as Caramoor’s 2016-17 Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence, the Argus Quartet brings exciting perspectives staunchly devoted to new music. These perspectives reimagine the chamber concert experience and enhance relationships with local students in Caramoor’s Student Strings mentorship program, who respond directly and enthusiastically to new music.


About a year ago, the Argus Quartet had the special privilege of seeing the new music ensemble Eighth Blackbird perform “Hand Eye,” a concert of works by the Sleeping Giant composers collective. They were so moved by the performance, that they had the idea to put together their own Sleeping Giant program.


The six members of the Sleeping Giant composers collective — all Yale alumni — are some of today’s most sought after young composers. Their works have been performed by the world’s most prestigious ensembles, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, and the JACK Quartet. The pieces in this special program represent six distinct voices that challenge our notions of a string quartet’s sound and musical capacity in very different ways. The compositions extend over a vast artistic and emotional range: from the dark sonic immersion of Jacob Cooper’s “Bad Black Bottom Kind” to the sparse, brooding portrait of depression in Christopher Cerrone’s “How to Breathe Underwater,” to the playful wit of Andrew Norman’s “Peculiar Strokes.” The program runs approximately 75 minutes in length.



Sleeping Giant Collective
Cerrone  How to Breathe Underwater
Honstein  Arctic
Cooper  Bad Black Bottom Kind
– Intermission –
Andres  Early to Rise
Hearne  For David Lang
Norman  Peculiar Strokes



2017 Summer Concert:


In its four short years of existence, the Los Angeles-based Argus Quartet, this season’s Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence, has performed everywhere from Carnegie Hall and the Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ in Amsterdam to the Hear Now Music Festival in Los Angeles and New Orleans’ Birdfoot Festival. As part of their residency at Caramoor, in addition to their public performances throughout the year, Argus serves as music mentors, lending their time and talents to Caramoor’s Student Strings program in secondary schools with a classroom-based program of concerts, conversations, and performance clinics.  Their varied program today contains masterworks by two prolific proponents of the string quartet—Haydn and Beethoven—and a world premiere by Donald Crockett, commissioned by Caramoor specifically for the Argus Quartet as part of our dedication to building “A String Quartet Library for the 21st Century.”


Friends’ Garden Party
Members at all levels are invited to attend the Friends’ Garden Party and enjoy pre-concert refreshments. For more information or to RSVP, please email Jennifer Pace at


Haydn  String Quartet in D Major, Op. 76, No. 5
Donald Crockett  World Premiere – Title TBD   Caramoor Commission
Beethoven  String Quartet No. 15 in A Minor, Op. 132


“This new string quartet, my fourth, is written especially for the young and highly talented Argus Quartet, and with their style, sound and sense of drama very much in mind.  It is a narrative piece, essentially a compact opera (mostly) without words, set in a post-civilization era and based loosely on recent end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it works of literary fiction.  And Shakespeare.  At times somber and agitated in tone, this ‘opera’ for string quartet is nonetheless ultimately optimistic, a collection of impressions and recollections about finding a way forward in a darkening landscape.” – Donald Crockett