Sleeping Giant Collective Project

Timo Andres ‘Early to Rise’
Christopher Cerrone ‘How to Breathe Underwater’
Jacob Cooper ‘Bad Black Bottom Kind’
Ted Hearne ‘For David Lang’
Robert Honstein ‘Arctic’
Andrew Norman ‘Peculiar Strokes’


The six members of the Sleeping Giant composer’s collective – all Yale alumni – are some of today’s most sought after young composers. Their works have been performed by the world’s most prestigious ensembles, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, and the JACK Quartet. The pieces in this special program represent six distinct voices that challenge our notions of a string quartet’s sound and musical capacity in different ways. The compositions extend over a vast artistic and emotional range: from the dark sonic immersion of Jacob Cooper’s “Bad Black Bottom Kind” to the sparse, brooding portrait of depression in Christopher Cerrone’s “How to Breathe Underwater,” to the playful wit of Andrew Norman’s “Peculiar Strokes.”


You can catch this program at Los Angeles City College on 2/23, Boston Court on 2/24, and Caramoor on 4/2! See our calendar for more details.

Jacob Cooper

Ted Hearne

Robert Honstein

Chris Cerrone

Andrew Norman

Timo Andres